It has been a parish longer than there has been an Archdiocese of Miami. For 65 years, thousands have gathered at Blessed Trinity to seek God, grow in faith and celebrate Mass as a parish family.
Nestled between Hialeah and Miami International Airport, Miami Springs is a city of less than 15,000 people tucked away behind magnificent trees, an oasis between the bustling highways of N.W. 36th Street and Okeechobee Road.
Blessed Trinity began as a mission of neighboring St. John the Apostle Parish in Hialeah. In 1953, the community celebrated its first Mass inside a tent on the grounds of a plantation. The first pastor was Father James Nelan. By 1956, the congregation had grown too large to be accommodated in the tent for Sunday Mass. Temporary accommodations were arranged with the Miami Springs Villas while a church and school was being built. Ground breaking took place in July 1957. At the time, the parish shared a pastor, Monsignor Dominic Barry, with another Hialeah church, Immaculate Conception. Construction was completed and Archbishop Joseph Hurley blessed the church and school on January 15, 1958.